I’ve been sniffing the coffee bean/burlap fumes again…………   2 comments

Coffee scented and functional? *insert drool. I admit a good day in my home starts with the whirring of the coffee grinder and the magnificent wafting of java beans emanating throughout the house. So when I stumbled on this post by Pepperbox Couture, I fell in love.

Pepperbox Couture

You may have seen my previous post on recovering my art chair in burlap.

But, did you know about this? Burlapcrete?

click on the image below to open article in a new window.

Burlap is so versatile and biodegradablethat you can put the scraps straight in the compost bin when you’re done!!!Or dip it in concrete and throw it at the side of your house – who knew!?!?!

This weekends project is making burlap baskets

First I had to make a few design decisions and draft a pattern.

There are literally tonnes of square burlap bags/baskets/boxes out there with their floppy sides and/or 5 or so layers of interfacing to ensure it stands firm as thick cardboard.

I wanted a more natural shape but one that mainly supported itself – Here’s where a little geometry comes in. The strongest geometric shape for my basket has to be a circle…

View original post 309 more words

Posted February 8, 2013 by bibbieandblue in Re-imagined

Tagged with ,

2 responses to “I’ve been sniffing the coffee bean/burlap fumes again…………

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thanks so much for reblogging my post! Have a great day! 🙂

  2. The honor was all mine! Now I’m obsessed with hunting down some coffee bags:) Oh & lovin’ the biodegradability.

Leave a Reply

One Flew Over The Empty Nest

Musings from my fun Empty Nest Life...

Clone Designs

"let your imagination become a creation"

Homespun Modern

living a crafty life

Yourowns.com

Where you buy and sell handmade products

Vijolcenne Creations

Welcome!! Design, artistic and unique jewelry created specially for you. Find your hand-made happiness in my page

