Local “Re”-Markable Designers Here in L’il Ol’ Ohio   4 comments

Hello from the Midwest dear readers!  I wanted to share a few  designers from my neck of the woods today.  The image below was created by Laurie Shafer.  She assembles her accent pieces (like this table) from Harley parts…thusly named “Part Art”.  I know a few Steam-punk fanatics & Harley gear-heads that would totally dig her stuff.

Local upcycled table

Next we have lighting by Jeffrey Wright in Minerva, Ohio.  I fell in love with this first light at a little art co-op shop in Hartville, Ohio, but you can visit his shop UpWright Concepts virtually at Etsy.

Local upcycled light

Local upcycled light 2

UpWright Concepts is a custom design studio specializing in upcycled or repurposed lighting and home decor.  I had to include just one more of his custom lights (above).  Ok…on to the next!

The re-purposed mail sorter (below) was lovingly upcycled by Rebecca Dunn of Massillon, Oh.  You can peruse her salvaged treasures at Rust and Found in Canal Fulton, Oh or virtually at her Etsy shop.  The official website for her store includes a nice little blog updating you on their hunting & picking adventures.  Fun stuff!

Local cubby

Last but not least is Lori Compton of Hartville, Ohio and her shop, One Vintage Lane.  If you like your salvage & rust sprinkled with a bit more French-flavored chic, you need to take a road trip to her boutique.  (added bonus: just across the parking lot are several other consignment/resale stores like Twice Is Nice Consignments, Best Bib & Tucker, Goodwill, & a Mennonite owned non-profit resale shop named Hartville Thrift Shoppe.)

Local one vintage lane

Lori excels at merchandising her wares and she is always changing things up in order to maintain a fresh shopping experience.  You will smack your forehead at least once & say, “Why didn’t I think of that?”

I’m feeling pretty darn lucky to have all of these talented designers so close to home.  I’d love to hear about the designers, crafty-folk, and salvage geeks in your area, so don’t be shy!  I may get to visit your neck of the woods someday!  Have a “Re”-markable Weekend!

Love,

Bibbie

Posted August 3, 2013 by bibbieandblue in Re-imagined

Tagged with , , ,

4 responses to “Local “Re”-Markable Designers Here in L’il Ol’ Ohio

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thank you so much for adding my Harley part table to your site. I have also found some very good uses for the wooden crates I will be using that idea my self.
    Thanks again,
    Laurie

  2. Lori’s store is a must stop for me when I am back in NE Ohio. She is an incredible merchandiser! I met her through my longtime friend Susan Taggart who owns, with her mom, an adorable store in N. Canton named Home Sweet Home. It is open Fridays and Saturdays. Check out her shop on facebook at Home Sweet Home Decor or her AMAZING blog at mustlovejunk.blogspot.com.

    • *rubbing my hands together with anticipation.
      I can’t wait to check it out! & yes, Lori’s store is beautiful! I don’t know why but I’m always drawn to her printing letters and she does crazy stuff with mouse traps (oddly enough!)

Leave a Reply

One Flew Over The Empty Nest

Musings from my fun Empty Nest Life...

Clone Designs

"let your imagination become a creation"

The Urban Peddler

Re-Purposing Funky Junk DIY Style

Homespun Modern

living a crafty life

Yourowns.com

Where you buy and sell handmade products

Vijolcenne Creations

Welcome!! Design, artistic and unique jewelry created specially for you. Find your hand-made happiness in my page

